The first of (possibly) many (probably) stupid questions
A Forum for new players to ask questions about CARPS. (and of course welcome to all of our Hungarian spammers!)

Moderator: Moderators

Maelstrom

The first of (possibly) many (probably) stupid questions

Post by Maelstrom »

So...
While I play P&D RPGs, love to camp, am a season pass holder for MiRF and C.A.R.P.S. seems to embody elements of all 3, I've never done anything remotely like this before. That being said, is it acceptable to show up to an event and just watch? I'd like to see it in action before I decide to "come out of my shell". I can dress the part (who knew that Ren Faire garb would have more than one use?), would be more than happy to help out with....whatever...throughout the day and could pay my share of whatever. From what I've read so far, it seems NPCs are usually in short supply. I could probably manage doing something like that if needs be.

Anywho...any answers, suggestions or what-have-you's would be much appreciated! :D
Hawke
The Inn's Taste Tester
The Inn's Taste Tester

Re: The first of (possibly) many (probably) stupid questions

Post by Hawke »

I'm still a noob myself.
However, if I recall correctly, the communal wisdom is: you can come and watch. no problem. You can take a stab at a character at any point you want. NPC camp, or the new player marshal, (or anyone standing around with time) will help you out. In addition, each player is allowed a free re-write of their first character after 2 or 3 events, in case they decide they hate the choices that were originally made. (as opposed to retiring a character, and starting a new one, which only nets you a partial return on investment of experience points)